We match you with mondy for school
join studentawards | the forum | membership benefits | surveys français? visitez boursetudes.com  
Welcome Guest to the Studentawards Forum Forum Home | Search | Active Topics | Forum Members | Forum Log In | Forum Register

McGill vs Queens vs UofT - Unbiased from a guy who attended all three Options
johnstafford
Posted: October 17, 2010 3:17:36 AM
Groups: Member

Firstly, I would like to assert that I have attended each of these three great universities and therefore am not inherently biased towards one (unlike most of the other contributors to these forums) simply because I go or have gone to it. I attended University of Toronto for economics for two years, and then transferred to Queens - initially because I just wanted to be further away from home (Toronto). I graduated with a BA in Economics and then went on to do an MA at McGill, and I am presently working on my PhD thesis dissertation at Yale university, also for Economics.

I loved my years at UofT and it really is a first class institution of higher learning in Canada. Some complaints that I have about it however, are of the usual nature which you will find on these forums. The classes are too large, the professors are too uninvolved in undergraduate education...etc etc.

I then started my third year at Queens and graduated.

What I think: Queen's is the best university for undergraduate studies in Canada

Now, Here is Why - and why you should ignore rankings
1) Contrary to what people in Canada usually believe, Queens is viewed as the most prestigious university by most prestigious American schools. As mentioned before, I am working towards the completion of a PhD at Yale university and many in the economics faculty express praise for the students they have encountered from Queens.

2) Queens is most similar to an ivy league or top liberal arts college than its rivals (McGill, UofT).