We match you with mondy for school
join studentawards | the forum | membership benefits | surveys français? visitez boursetudes.com  
Welcome Guest to the Studentawards Forum Forum Home | Search | Active Topics | Forum Members | Forum Log In | Forum Register

UofT life science specializations/majors/minors Options
Sptar
Posted: November 25, 2009 4:15:17 PM

Groups: Member

Heya. I'm in 1st year life sci at UofT, and for the most part, I found it somewhat tough.

Anyway, I'm currently doing really bad in physics ( PHY131, 0.5 credit course), and economics (ECO100, 1.0 credit course), and this might lower my GPA to the point where I wouldn't be eligible for the major I want. I want to major in biochemistry, and either biology, economics, or something else (suggestions?). I am wondering; lets say I don't get the GPA required, and I major in biological chemistry instead, or specialize in biology, what is the extent to which I will be screwed over by not getting into a certain major, if at all?

I know I'm not going to get into med school (I don't have the academic or social skill to go that far), but I was hoping for pharmacy at most. I really don't mind going into lab work, or something like that. I'm still trying to at least make the minimum requirement for med school, so that I at least have the ability to apply to other decent graduate schools.

Anyway, so yeah, tell me about majors, and what happens when I screw up and get one I don't want?

Thanks.
O. Tannenbaum
Posted: November 25, 2009 4:48:39 PM

Presumably, you will have several backups with a lower GPA requirement in case you don't get accepted into the program you want. I don't see what the problem is; you need to be in a program in order to graduate anyway.

University of Toronto '11
Sptar
Posted: November 25, 2009 5:53:51 PM

Kay, I'll be a little more specific then.